The Programgamer

The blog of THE grand Programgamer.

Early look at (yet another) game I am working on

Hey, it’s me again!

It’s been a while since I last posted anything here. I know I tend to forget the projects I start, but I hope this time will be different, because I think I have a pretty good idea of what I want to do this time. I have a clear idea of what I want the game to look like when it’s done, and that sense of direction has driven me to make quite a bit more progress on this than on any other projects I’ve started. I’ll also make a point to post at least weekly about the progress of the game, even if I have nothing done since last time, and even if I have to do a bit of shady stuff to get access to a computer.

So first thing first, the idea of what the game is. It’s a pretty simple platformer with a clever twist. Now, some people are gonna be like “oh, you just called yourself clever, what a self-centered prick”. Well, yes, I just called myself clever, ’cause I am. Anyways, the clever twist to the game is that you control your weapons in a twin-stick shooter kind of way, where you use the numpad as a kind of eight directional aiming contraption. The idea came to me when I was playing MegaMan X, and I thought to myself that it would be nice to be able to shoot left while going right, and vice-versa. After a bit of messing around with the idea in my head, I figured the best way to implement the idea would be to make the player’s weapon independent of the direction that the player is facing. And the numpad was really the only way to do this, so I started implementing a basic draft of the game in Game Maker, and the result seems pretty cool. I don’t have a video to show, but I have screenshots, even if that shows nothing gameplay-wise. You have two weapons so far, the sword and the gun, and you can beat enemies, take damage, die, jump around and change your weapons. Here are the aforementioned screenshots:

Image

Image

Image

Anyways, I hope this little teaser excites you, cause there’s more to this coming in the future! Like a video maybe? You’ll just have to wait and see.

-ProgramGamer

Click here to make your opinion public.

